Big 12 Focus on Volleyball

by | Dec 18, 2023 | 0 comments

Home E Big 12 E Big 12 Focus on Volleyball

We focus on volleyball on this edition of the Big 12 minute, as Texas swept Nebraska yesterday to win a second consecutive National Championship and 5th overall. The indoor attendance mark of 19,727 sets a new record as well breaking the mark set three days prior in the semis at Amalie Arena in Tampa where the Final Four was this year.

Eleven Big 12 players were named to annual American Volleyball Coaches Association’s D1 All-America teams.
First Team
Asjia O’Neal, Texas, MB, Sr. who is the daughter of former NBA Player Jermaine O’Neal
Madisen Skinner, Texas OH, Jr.
Third Team
Kenna Sauer, Houston, OH, Gr.
Reagan Cooper, Kansas, OH, Gr.
Melanie Parra, TCU, OH, Jr.
Honorable Mention
Whitney Bower, BYU, S, Sr.
Erin Livingston, BYU, OH, Sr.
Kate Georgiades, Houston, L, Sr.
Nayeli Gonzalez, Iowa State, OH, Fr.
Camryn Turner, Kansas, S, Jr.
Aliyah Carter, K-State, OH, Sr

Meanwhile, 7 players were drafted in the Pro Volleyball Federation draft. The PVF season kicks off on January 2nd
First Round
Pick (Overall)
1 (1) Asjia O’Neal, Texas – Columbus Fury
Second Round
2 (9) Whitney Bower, BYU – Atlanta Vibe, who are lead by former UCF Coach Todd Dagonios
4 (11) Sydney Bolding, K-State – Grand Rapids Rise
7 (14) Reagan Cooper, Kansas – Columbus Fury
Third Round
4 (18) Kenna Sauer, Houston – Grand Rapids Rise
6 (20) Kamaile Hiapo, BYU – Atlanta Vibe
7 (21) Abby Hansen, UCF – Omaha Supernovas
*(Hansen traded to Orlando Valkyries after that selection)

About Jeff Allen
Jeff Allen worked in Sportstalk radio in Orlando from 1983 to 1996, most notably as the Program and Sports Director at WGTO in the early 90's, anchoring morning sports reports and various sportstalk shows. Jeff also hosts the Jeff Allen Sportstalk Podcast, which you can find on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, SoundCloud and TuneIn. Email:


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *